Back In The Saddle (Mostly)

Well, really, I’m back in The Sweatshop, which endearingly refers to my sewing room, I mean Office.

I am feeling mostly better, at least the technicolor crap has stopped flowing from my nose and mouth. I am still coughing like nobody’s business. I’ve tried breathing in steam and using Vick’s. They help somewhat. What I’d really like is a nice prescription-strength cough syrup. But I refuse to sit in Urgent Care on New Year’s Eve weekend. So I’ll suffer through. (And likely complain the whole way.)

So back to the Sweatshop. It started bright and early, just after showering, when I put on one of my Xmas gifts to wear for the day (a pair of pants from Zara, well, actually there were two, but I can only wear one at a time). They were about 2 inches too long. So, me being me, I decided to hem them (in my undies, truth be told). Within 10 minutes I had a pair of pants that actually fit.

After lunch (Croque Madame (a french grilled cheese with ham, tomato, gruyere cheese au gratin, and a fried egg on top) and a double, non-fat latte) My Partner and I had to check on one of the houses he’s remodeling.

Shortly thereafter it was back home to attempt to create these for two of our chandeliers. As you can see on the website, they go for a good $37 bucks. Um, No Way Jose.

I started by measuring the chains on the chandeliers I wanted to cover. I multiplied the length by 1.5 to get the length for the fabric. The chain in the bedroom was narrower than the chain for the chandelier in the foyer, so it was 5 inches wide whereas the latter was made 6 inches wide.

iflickr

Then I stitched in 1/2″ from the edges to make hemming easier (This is one of the BEST tricks I ever read/learned! It makes getting a consistent hem so much easier. Actually, I did it on my pants earlier in the day!).

Hemmed

After that, I folded, ironed, and stitched down the hem on all four sides.

Elasticized

Then I stitched elastic to each edge to get it to gather (hence the 1.5 times the desired length). Then I added hook and loop faster to either of the long sides (unfortunately I deleted this photo!), being careful to put one side on the inside of the fabric and the other on the outside so that when they’re joined they overlap instead of, well, not overlapping.

iflickr

iflickr

And voila! Chandelier Cozies. The one above is for the chandelier in what will be our child(ren)’s room. The blue matches the walls and the drapes.

iflickr

 This is the one I made for the chandelier in the foyer.

And with that, I’m going to leave you and watch Riddick (I love me some Vin Diesel!) and work on a cashmere scarf (FOR ME!).

10 Responses to “Back In The Saddle (Mostly)”

  1. Princess Says:

    Those look great! I’m so glad you’re mostly back in the saddle and I hope you’re all the way in by the time the ball drops!

    Enjoy your Vin Diesel and YOUR scarf!

  2. Carrie Says:

    Add some eucalyptus oil to the water when you steam, and breathe it in as deep as you can. It will make you cough like crazy, but it will help things clear up very soon. I swear by it.

  3. Darci Says:

    I was just going to recommend the oil but I see Carrie has…it works! Thanks for the tutorial on the wraps…I will be doing this in my dining room. Finally, loving the light in the child(rens) room…it rocks

  4. Adele Says:

    Neat project, who would have thought something so simple changes the entire look of your ceiling? NICE!
    Are you taking any Mucinex? I swear… the stuff helps to thinn the mucous (hope B doesn’t read this LOL) and clear everything out. Sorry you’re STILL feeling so crappy :( Sending lots of healing hugs XXXXOXOX

  5. Shelly Says:

    Oh thank heaves you are back. I was really having Frank withdrawls! I’m sorry you’ve been feeling so crappy but glad you are starting to feel better! This project is freaking cool I wish you lived closer to me so I could get inspiration…

    oh and fyi..dorothy varney hasn’t been feeling well either…more to come on that ;)

  6. Shelly Says:

    LOL I said heaves…

  7. Lori Says:

    Those are cool, but the one for the foyer is really, really rich looking. I’m glad you saved the $37…your creativity helps keep your wallet fat. Ha Ha!
    So when are the pictures of the kids’ room coming???
    Hope you’re feeling better.

  8. MonkeyGurrl Says:

    PURRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRTY!!! But more importantly, where can I get a Croque Madame?! It sounds positively YUMMY! (And please do NOT tell me you made it yourself or I will be forced to bop you upside the head.)

  9. Anita Says:

    I’m so glad you are feeling somewhat better. I hope you are over the cough soon. I am such a wimp when it comes to liquid medicines and was most happy to discover they have capsules in the nasty prescription cough medicine my doctor gives. Best of all, they work!

    As for you, it being a holiday and everything being closed, you can make your own cough syrup as my sister-in-law did. Get an airtight container, put in some whiskey, add a few peppermint candies (just those red & white discs or leftover candy canes), let it sit for a bit and voila! Take as you would cough medicine….by the spoonful.

  10. Kentucky Megan Says:

    Happy 2008 Oh Crafty One! Feel better soon. My mom is swearing by something she bought at the drug store … I’ll find out the name and post later.

Comments are closed.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

