Archive for April 4th, 2008

See You Later Gramma!

April 4, 2008

Yesterday was the end of our 10-day visit with Gramma (my mom), or Granny as I’d call her when she was lagging behind. ;) She flew in on Monday, March 24 to spend time with us and meet her newest grandson, Oliver. It was a fun visit and although we didn’t do all the things I think she wanted, we did do a few things. And as I was lamenting the things we didn’t get to do, I remembered my mom’s words:

“When there’s a baby involved, you don’t have a lot of control over your schedule.”

Despite how fast the 10 days went, we got to spend a lot of time together and managed to do some fun things.

On Friday, we went to the Los Angeles Zoo. When Mom suggested it, I replied, “I’m not sure Oliver is old enough to appreciate the zoo,” to which she replied, “I didn’t want to go for Oliver; I’ve never been there and would like to see it!”

Well, alrighty then. So off to the Los Angeles Zoo it was.

iFlickr

iFlickr

(Note to self: Don’t let Mom navigate! ;) )

iFlickr

Of particular interest to Mom was the Gorilla Exhibit, which was really amazing. Unfortunately the gorillas were very far away (which was good because they were HUGE!), so there weren’t any good photo opportunities.

P3282816.JPG

We did get to see this cute guy hanging around.

P3282870.JPG

We got to see the sea lions (I think they were sea lions, but they may have been seals) do tricks after the trainers entered their compound. It was really neat to see them doing jumps and other tricks.

P3282799.JPG

This poor guy (or girl) looked so bored (he/she was pacing back and forth) and hot (it was a very warm day).

P3282758.JPG

Anyone remember that game Hungry, Hungry Hippos?

P3282750.JPG

I was thinking about picking up a flamingo for the front lawn, but the smell was horrendous! ;)

Saturday we went to our friends in the Hollywood Hills for a late lunch. Then Sunday was spent enjoying a wonder lunch prepared by a dear friend in her beautiful apartment on the beach in Santa Monica.

Tuesday we visited Nelly, the mom of my dear friend Vanesa, who is going to be babysitting Oliver while we’re at work.  She and Oliver hit it off, as did Oliver and Jasmine, the 16-month-old she also cares for.

I don’t remember what else we did while she was here, but we did get in some good food (well, I thought it was good. Mom complained that her system was acting up from all the ‘strange’ food. Harumph!). While she was here she got to try Greek, Persian, Thai, and Indian!

Wednesday was spent taking Oliver for his 4 month check-up. Poor little guy got his immunizations (and still has the hard lumps on his thighs to prove it!) as well as having some blood drawn for a couple of tests.

I’m not sure who cried harder during that ordeal: Oliver, me, or Mom! And of course the poor nurse didn’t have any luck when she tried the left vein in his elbow, so we ended up having to change arms. Man, what an awful experience!

During the 10 days that she was here, Mom and Oliver really hit it off and I could tell that she was very proud and fond of her newest grandson.

Gramma&Oliver

ThreeGens


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

