Frank’s Army

On June 29 I posted about the efforts of my friends who are/were doing the Relay For Life (Jenna did it in Milwaukee and Adele will be doing it in Windsor, CO).

My friend Adele has coined the term Frank’s Army” for all those who support her efforts for RFL (and generally for anyone who supports me as I go through chemo).

I knew Adele was competitive as I’m a competitive person as well, but I have to tell ya, she makes me look like a light weight. She has taken being General ;-) of Frank’s Army very seriously as up to now has raised OVER $1400!! Here is what Adele said about it on one of our favorite web forums, The Baker’s Bar (I’ve made some minor changes to make it flow, as marked by parentheses, but the meaning has not been changed):

As it stands right now, there are over $1300 in donations to Relay for Life- most of those from here at (The Baker’s Bar) in support of Frank!!

Because this is all about raising money, and I’m competitive (emphasis my own ;-) ), here are the current standings. Our team is 2nd overall in team funds raised. I am 3rd overall in personal funds raised- I’m only behind the 2nd person by $200!!!!!

Now, just to show you how impressive that is, let me tell you a little about the first place team and fund raiser. She is a local vet who has ALL sorts of national honors and awards. She is known throughout the US for her research and treatment on CANCER in animals. She sends her donation letter out to her ENTIRE client and Christmas list, not to mention all the people who come into her vet clinic and donate there. So being 2nd to her team in the team rankings and being 3rd to (this doctor) (the second and 4th place individual top fundraisers are ALSO (on this doctor’s team) team) is an AMAZING feat if I do say so. And really, it’s been pretty effortless on my part- it’s all because of YOU guys and your support of FRANK!!

So I just finished being all crafty today- I put the finishing touches on 4 gift baskets that will be up for bid in the silent auction at the RFL. Then I got to work on the Luminary Bags. Well, I’m short one bag, so I made mine on paper and will tape it to the bag at the relay. You can’t tell in the photo. but they ALL are blinged out- they have beads and sparkly things all over them- the glue gun was my friend today
I will of course take a picture of the bags set and lit up at the relay too, but wanted you to check them out in the light first.
(Please note: it is too late to support Adele by purchasing luminary bags.)

Thanks once again for all of your support. You all are simply amazing!!

LuminaryBagsFront

LuminaryBagsBack

The following my response to Adele’s news:

To Frank’s Army, and it’s General, Adele,

Words become meaningless when I try to find the right ones to express my gratitude for your financial contributions, but also for the cards and emails you’ve sent to me and my family.

As you can imagine, this is one of the most harrowing and trying experiences I’ve gone through. Unlike other obstacles I’ve had in my life, I don’t have the option of giving up. I have a nearly-8-month old, a nearly 50-year-old, and scads of others who are counting on me to get through this.

Knowing this doesn’t make what I’m going through any easier, by any stretch. There are many days I just want to give up and say I’ve had enough. But knowing that there are so many people, including My Guys and My Army out there gives me hope that I can make it through to the other side of this. It gives me hope that someday someone else can be spared from this awful, awful experience. But mostly, it gives me hope for tomorrow and our world. If a group of neighbors can come together in urban Los Angeles to care for another neighbor; if a group of online message board members can band together to raise an incredible amount of money for cancer research, and if a little girl can give up her allowance to help someone she doesn’t know with a disease she likely doesn’t yet understand (see my see Nicole’s comment), then my hope for my community and my world has been reignited and it’s worth it for me to continue to struggle knowing that my son (and future daughter) will grow up in a world that still comprehends and demonstrates it’s humanity.

So again, these words sound so insincere and trivial compared to the kindness and generosity you have all shown, but Thank You. Thank you from me as someone fighting cancer, but also thank you from a father. You will all never likely understand exactly how much you have impacted me by all of this. But thank you.

xo
Frank

I was going to say, I invite you all to join Frank’s Army. But by reading, comments, sending me emails, you’ve already done that.

So instead I’ll say, please help Adele in her quest (remember the aforementioned competitiveness ;-) ) to raise the most she can for cancer research. You can do that by following this link. (I also have thrown an incentive in there: anyone who donates $25 or more will be entered into a drawing for an item handmade by me.)

Thank you!

13 Responses to “Frank’s Army”

  1. Lauren Says:

    Wow. If all that doesn’t give you hope for the world, I don’t know what will. I can only hope that everyone fighting cancer finds an army of their own!

    It would also seem, however, that you have unknowingly built this army over the years by being a good friend and neighbor. (I mean, as far as a blog reader who doesn’t know you in real life can tell. You could actually be a huge jerk. But probably not. HA!)

    Fight on!

  2. Princess Says:

    More. Always.

  3. Adele Says:

    Exactly Lauren- Frank, YOU have built this army, I am only the interim General (albeit a competitive interim General ;) )

    In the meantime- foward MARCH!!! Frank’s army is ready to rock tomorrow night at the Relay in Windsor.

    Thank you to:
    Karen Mc
    Mary P
    for your generous donations!

    (Only $60 behind 2nd place individual fundraiser!!)

    BRING IT ON!!!!!!

  4. Mary Says:

    Just amazing!

  5. Lisa V Says:

    Frank & Adele,
    Thanks for providing the link and giving all us lurkers a way to “help”.
    Stay strong, and march on!

  6. Adele Says:

    Thank you Ruth V- Frank’s Army is at #2 for individual fundraising!!!

    Now we only need $900 in the next 7 hours to pull ahead of Dr. Downing- that’s not too much to ask is it?? ;)

    Some of the messages donors to the Relay have left:
    kick ass Frank! and General!!! -Mary P
    for frank’s army -Sharon Z
    Praying for strength, health and quick recovery my brave friend. -Heather T
    For Frank! -Denise T
    A very worthy cause that is close to my heart. -Glenda S
    Glad your working on this cause – Jeff S
    I’m buying a luminary for Frank here in MN as my daughter is on a team and participating–and want to join your efforts as well. I think it’s the least we can do to lift Frank up and let him know how much we care about his well-being and what a loyal and true friend we’ve made through our caking hobby. -Amy S
    Our prayers are with you and your’s -Christina S
    Love you Frank! Cheeering you on! -Holly R
    I don’t know if Frank knows this, but he is so strong and courageous. He is an inspiration to me because I don’t think I would have half the strength he does. From reading his blog and his responses at the bar he is an amazing person who will get through this because of his determination and strength. Thnking of him and his family. -Tammy O
    kick it’s ass Frank!!! We’re thinking about you and know you will win this fight! -Susan Ot
    Kick that squatter’s behind Frank!! -KarenMc
    For Frank!! -Lisa M
    For Frank -Kathy F
    Beat this thing Frank! -Lisa B
    Helping to fight the fight with Frank! Go Frank’s Army – Kim B
    :D

  7. Adele Says:

    Blog Stalker of Franknotes! -Deborah O
    Thank you for your donation!

    Oh… the vet is playing hardball ;) She still has donations coming in too! We’re still about $900 behind her.

    On a serious note, while I admit I am totally competitive- this is about raising money for an amazing cause and showing Frank how much support he has all over the world-this is not about me. It WOULD be cool to catch up to Dr. Downing, but only because it would mean that SO much money was rasied for ACS in Frank’s honor.

  8. Rebecca S Says:

    LOL — to put Lauren’s fears to rest, Frank is no jerk. ;-P Far, far from it.

    It’s just awesome to see so many people jump in and help on your behalf. Hope you can feel all that love, Frank!

  9. Adele Says:

    Coming in on the home stretch
    Squatter….. BE GONE!! -Carmen B
    Adele – I read about what you’re doing on Frank’s blog. That’s spectacular! I hope this helps get you to #1!! – Jenna R

    Thank you for your donations!!
    I’m off to the Relay everyone- THANK YOU so very, very much for your help!!!
    We didn’t get to #1- but OVER $1800!!! That is AMAZING!! And your help has pushed out team total to over $5000!!!!

    You can still continue to donate- it still goes to the same great cause- and it will be reflected in the final tally. So if you want to donate, don’t hesitate! :)

  10. Allison SuperCrafty Says:

    I’m a little late in catching up on my blogs – just donated. Adele, thank you for doing this. You have a big heart!

  11. Adele Says:

    Thank you for doing this for Frank – for those of us that support him, and you. -Amy K
    Allison K
    Thank you both!!

    Right now, I’m headed to bed -still reeling after nearly 30 hrs w/o sleep and took the time to watch a movie with my family tonight and give my aching feet a pedicure haha!
    BUT I wanted to check in and say THANK YOU again for the support. How crazy is it that people at a Relay for Life in Windsor, CO came up to talk to me about a man in Los Angeles and the remarkable fight he is fighting!?! Pretty darn cool.
    I’ll email a detailed update to Frank, including a link to photos in the next day or two the first chance I get!
    And just in case you are reading this late- the fiscal year for the Windsor Relay for Life does not end until Aug 30- so donations can be accepted until then!

  12. Nicole Says:

    Wow!
    Frank… thankyou for your powerful words. My heart is full to the brim. I will show Isabella your post after school tomorrow (she is asleep now) so her little eight year old heart can get filled up on some Frank love too. I think I underestimated just how much she understood. Children are sponges for knowledge and could one day be the makers of cures.

    If you bend a twig it will snap…. but if you try to bend a bundle of twigs, they won’t budge. The power of one is mighty strong but with such an army as this…. the enemy has no chance at all!
    Throwing a handful of love right back at you.
    xox

  13. Adele Says:

    Thank you JOAN for the donation!!!
    Frank’s Army raised OVER $1900!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Comments are closed.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

