Archive for November 16th, 2008

Back From Our Honeymoon!

November 16, 2008

My Husband and I arrived home from our honeymoon at around 9pm last night.  It was really great to get away and enjoy each other’s company.  Our dear friend Lindsey had been offering since our wedding to take care of Oliver for us, so we finally took her up on it!

The honeymoon was amazing.  We got to see parts of Italy, England, Bolivia, Australia, Haiti, and a quick peek at Russia.

OK, ok, the gig is up.  We didn’t actually GO to any of these places but rather saw them in Quantum of Solace, the new James Bond movie.

As we were standing in line at the concession stand waiting to get robbed place our order, My Husband commented on the steep prices of everything, to which I responded, “Don’t worry, we’re using wedding gift money; it’s our honeymoon!  Order what you want!”

Sad but true and good for a laugh.

Actually we had a great evening together alone.  Armed with our sodas and popcorn we thoroughly enjoyed the movie, despite the poor reviews it received.  To us it had everything a James Bond film needs: women, action, technology, and LOTS of gun fire.  There was bit too much of the latter for me, but what do I know?  The only way it could have been better was to have seen more of Daniel Craig scantily clad (there was only one quick underwear shot!).

After the movie, the honeymoon continued when my betrothed and I zipped over to Cafe Du Village in Larchmont Village (which, despite the poor reviews in that link, I have never had a problem with and we used to be somewhat frequent patrons, well, before parenthood!) for a late dinner.  We were seated quickly but were both a bit surprised at the apparent increase in prices since our last visit (again, before parenthood, so maybe close to a year).  I ordered my favorite: the chicken breast in mushroom sauce, which I swear used to be in the $16-18 range and was now $24.  He noticed a significant increase in the filet mignon as well.

But whatever, we were on our honeymoon; money was no object!  (My Husband pointed out that we reminded him of his interior design clients who bought their last piece of furniture 10 or 15 years ago and are flabbergasted by the price of furniture in today’s economy.  I can’t make a sofa, but I can surely make a chicken breast in mushroom sauce myself, which is part of my issue with paying too much to go out to eat!)

But in spite of our apparently frugal selves, we thoroughly enjoyed our honeymoon dinner.  The only thing missing was a good bottle of wine (which isn’t served but can be brought in to the restaurant, um, if one plans that far in advance.  Although they likely would have laughed at my Yellowtail Merlot anyway… Whatev, I’m not a wine snob.)

After dinner we made our way over to Crumbs Bakeshop to pick up a little Thank You gift for Lindsey and her husband for giving up her Saturday night and making our honeymoon possible.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

