Another Sunday

Our Sunday day started with cafe au laits and freshly-baked croissants.

Nope, I’m neither crazy nor that ambitious.  All I have to say is, “I ♥ Trader Joe’s!”

IMG_0122

I took these out on Saturday night, let them sit at room temperature for about 9 hours, popped them into a 350 degree oven for about 20 minutes and Voila:

IMG_0120

After this hearty and comforting breakfast, we all headed back to bed while Oliver took his morning nap.  That was almost as glorious as the croissants!

For lunch we went to the Omelette Parlor in Santa Monica for their delicious waffles with hot banana and walnut topping.  While we were waiting for lunch to arrive, we were trying to find something to entertain Oliver. The camera worked for a little bit.

IMG_0125

After the novelty of using the Raw Sugar packets as maracas wore off, I handed him a container of half-and-half.

I don’t know if he’s had them before he put it up to his lips, pierced the top with his teeth and began to suck out the contents.

IMG_0131

And in my infinite wisdom, I took it away, which resulted in this:

IMG_0127

And although I’m not usually swayed by  crocodile tears, given how packed the place was, I gave it back.

After he’d sucked it dry, he had to compare it to what he gets in his sippy cup.

IMG_0135

I think he may have liked the sippy cup simply because it was easier to get to and there was more in it.

Then during nap time I opted to work on the First Block of Many and came up with this (JUST as Oliver was waking up!  Talk about timing!)

IMG_0137

Obviously I still need to do something about the outsid edges, and unfortunately there are a couple of tucks in the center that I’ll go back and rework.  But overall I’m really trying to have this process be about creating and not about perfectionism.

Now I’m watching the Oscar’s while I iron shirts.

The life of a trophy husband…

12 Responses to “Another Sunday”

  1. Lee Cockrum Says:

    That howling picture is priceless!! Surely one to embarrass him with later in life!

    I did make a 2nd bag, I will email you with the link to the photo!

  2. Jane Says:

    Thanks for being honest about giving in to crocodile tears…I try not to either. But sometimes if I am wiped out, or we are in public, it is just the choice I make.

    Thanks for being honest.

  3. Darci Says:

    Been meaning to try the TJ croissants…good to know they are good. Thinking about adding some stuff to fill them for the week.

  4. Lori Says:

    You’ve just learned one of the most important parenting lessons anyone needs to know….NEVER take away a container of half & half!!!

    I have to come back and read this tomorrow, right now I am laughing my ass off at that picture!!!!!!!

  5. Heather Says:

    Go Oliver, what a scream? Love that picture! Frank, that was no crocodile tears, he was truly upset!!! Crying his poor little ole heart out… LOL……how did he know how to get to the milk? Probably purely coincidence. Look at those big hands, Oliver is going to be your giant.

    I am in awe of your medallion. I’m really in love with your colour choices.

  6. Mama Llama Says:

    I’d have done the same thing (given back the half-and-half) if we were in a crowded restaurant! I admit that I’m one of those moms who gets really embarrassed when my son has a fit in public.

    I really wish there was a TJ’s closer to me.

  7. Lauren Says:

    That screaming picture is priceless!How could you not give in to a face that adorable? :)

  8. Rachel Says:

    Okay, that settles it. I’m going to see how far I have to drive to get to a Trader Joe’s. Those croissants look like they’d be worth the trip.

  9. Rachel Says:

    Woot woot! There’s a TJ’s in Richmond! I’m so there this weekend.

  10. MonkeyGurrl Says:

    Frank. Looking purty HAWT there!!! Even with the screaming child. :)

  11. Lisa E. Says:

    Hee! My kids used to love the “little milks”! Little packages of crackers were also a big hit. Heck, I wasn’t above letting them pick out a jelly to eat with a spoon. I’d tell you about the pats of butter, but I’m afraid my Mother of the Year pin would be taken away. I was once with my three little children and my mother, passing out little milks and waiting for our breakfast to be served when she looked at me and said, “You know, Lisa, we’re now the people we used to laugh at.”

  12. Adele Says:

    I remember when we were in a hotel room in Wales, my brother was maybe 4? Mom and Dad were in the bathroom getting cleaned up for dinner, Casey and I in the living room area of the hotel room. Casey downed about 15 of those. And Mom wondered why he had the shits the next day….
    LOL- Hoooowwwwllllll!!!! Oh man, that just made me giggle! My poor little dude!!

Comments are closed.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

