Archive for April 29th, 2009

Creature of Habit

April 29, 2009

I’m not sure if it’s a Taurus-thing or what, but I LOVE creating procedures and routines for things.

I always put my personal belongings in the same spot so I always know where they are.  I hate that feeling of “oh poop, I lost XXXX”.

My house keys are kept on a keychain with a clip so I can attach them to my car key.  That way I can take the house keys off and stow them in (the same place) in my car and not have a pocket bulging with keys.

I always have my car key and my iPhone in my right front pocket.

I always have my work keys in my left pocket.

I always put my briefcase in the same place at home and at work.

I always take my work keys out of my pocket when I get into my car at the end of the day and put them in the same place in my car.

So when I reached into my pocket today after lunch and didn’t find my work keys (think Master key to the campus and the gates!), I almost had a heart attack!

They weren’t in my right pocket either.

Run back to the parking lot to check my car.

WHEW!  There they were, just like I usually do every evening but for whatever reason did when I went to get lunch.

All this to demonstrate how highly routinized and predictable I am when it comes to stuff like this.

Which is why I’m utterly and completely miffed that (GASP) I lost my wedding ring!

The last I remembered wearing it was last week Monday, during the heat wave we got.  After that, I don’t remember what I did with it.  I’ve searched high (through my medicine chest) and low (through the front garden!) and I couldn’t find it anywhere.

I know, I know, I shouldn’t take it off to begin with.  But sometimes it annoys me (like after I wash my hands or when I’m really hot and my fingers are sweaty).

What I normally do is either put it in my medicine cabinet (when I have the gumption to walk up the stairs) or attach it to my keys (via the clip on the house keys).  So the only thing I can think of is that I was walking out to my car, didn’t realize my ring was on there and it fell off when I unclipped my car key.

We’ve (yes, I told Hubby) been looking for a week and couldn’t find it anywhere.  :o(

So I bought a new one (thankfully at almost 50% off what we paid before thanks to a “stimulus sale”!).

From now on, it’s not going on my keys and only in my medicine cabinet.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

