Archive for September 28th, 2009

Getting My Craftiness Back On

September 28, 2009

I LOVE it when I have days like yesterday (Sunday)!  I got so much done that I didn’t have time to lament the fact that I had to go back to work today!

It started bright and early with Oliver waking up at 6:30 AGAIN! (and only on weekends!).  We tried to bring him in to bed with us to go back to sleep but that didn’t work out as planned.  So it was up for an early breakfast.

After breakfast I went out to my Sewing Studio to work on something I’ve been thinking about for over a year now.  My dear friend Kathy makes beautiful handmade cards and after seeing a tutorial from SouleMama I immediately knew I wanted to try to make (and perhaps market) some to wrap around her gorgeous cards.  Unfortunately that was right smack in the middle of the whole Cancer/Chemo thing, so needless to say it got pushed off for a while.

Then Kathy called last week to say that she knew a little girl who had cancer and whose family was holding a fundraiser for her to get chemo.  She asked if I still had her cards and if I could send them back.

So yesterday morning I whipped out these Gratitude Wraps, based on the ideas from SouleMama.

Gratitude Wraps Outside

Gratitude Wraps

Unlike hers, mine don’t hold stamps, an address book, or a pen, but I still think they’re pretty neat.  Hopefully they’ll make a bit more money for the little girl that Kathy knows.

So those were done by 11 and then it was into the shower and off to the Larchmont Farmer’s Market, a Sunday tradition.  To help get us through we stopped for New York pizza at a little shop in Larchmont, and then walked down the street to get our weekly supply of local fruits and veggies.

After depositing our lode at home and putting Oliver down for a nap, I ran downtown to pick up some Amy Butler fabric to use as a binding on a quilt I’ve been working on FOR MYSELF!  It’s the first time I’ve made anything this large for myself.  Usually I gift them.  But my dear friend Joan gifted me with a quilt kit that included a pattern and all the fabrics for the quilt top.  I got that finished before we left for France last summer and have been chomping at the bit to get it quilted and bound.  Last weekend I finished the quilting and yesterday, with the fabric purchase from downtown, I was able to finish the binding during Oliver’s nap.

My Quilt!

A close-up of the quilting on the front:

Quilt Quilting2

The back, also an Amy Butler print:

Quilt Back

A close-up of the quilting from the back:

Quilt Back Quilting

I got the binding on just as Oliver was waking up from his nap and barely had time to throw it into the washer before I had to bake the FOUR LOAVES of whole wheat bread I had raising in the kitchen (two cinnamon raisin nut and two regular whole wheat) and shortly thereafter dinner (grilled burgers and corn on the cob).

Such a fulfilling Sunday!


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

