3 Years Ago Today

“Daddy’s fishie” arrived and changed my life in so many ways that I can’t even begin to list them.

OliverArrives

The Angel that delivered Oliver to us, Papa, Oliver, and Daddy moments after his arrival.

I had no idea how my life was going to change from that day forward, all because we were chosen to be the parents of this amazing little guy.

I wish I could say that I haven’t had any regrets since that day three years ago, but unfortunately I have had many.  Thankfully none of them have to do with my desire nor decision to become a Daddy.

Instead, all of my regrets stem from my wish that I could be the Daddy that Oliver deserves.  All I can say is that each day I try the best I can with what I have.  Unfortunately I go to bed every evening aware that I have fallen short, but optimistic that I will be a better Daddy the next day and the next day after that.

I have learned the truth in a saying that Hubby taught me long ago.  “I love you more today than yesterday, but not nearly as much as I will love you tomorrow.”

9 Responses to “3 Years Ago Today”

  1. Em Says:

    Happy daddyversary, Frank! It’s so awesome that you and hubby have been able to have this little love bug come into your lives (and you into his!). A wonderful day!!!

  2. Joan Says:

    I remember it vividly. You were so excited and happy. You are a great daddy and Oliver is lucky to have you and L as his parents. An adorable baby has grown into a very handsome little boy. Happy Daddyversary!

  3. Megan Says:

    Happy Anniversary of becoming a dad. I think that making mistakes in parenting is ok and even good for our children. They learn that it’s ok to be human and make mistakes. It also gives you the opportunity to gracefully navigate the world while not being perfect.

  4. Darci Says:

    Happy Daddyversery….and always remember that sometimes it is ok to be good enough…perfection is not always achieved.

  5. Lori Says:

    The “Perfect Daddy” in Frank’s mind is not equal to the perfect Daddy in Oliver’s mind.

    I don’t think you have short-changed Oliver in the least. He has all he needs to live a good life and then some. Number one, he knows he is loved. Beyond that he has a stylish wardrobe, good food to eat, a cool new haircut, he’s gone to France, and he’s experienced lots of things in 3 years that most kids never get to do. What more could a kid want?

  6. sharon Says:

    Happy Oliversary! WOW! Three years, it really doesn’t seem that long. How lucky the three of you are to have found each other.

    Oh and stop beating yourself up! Oliver is very happy to have you and Papa as his parents, that shines out in every picture we see and in every event you relate. We all make mistakes and have the occasional ‘Oooops’ moment when raising our children, but those shouldn’t really be thought of as regrets. Perfection is not necessarily the optimum when children are concerned. Good enough has plenty to recommend it ;-)

    xox

  7. Mama Llama Says:

    Happy Anniversay, Daddy, Papa and Oliver. Such a wonderful day to celebrate your family. I hope you did something special.

    I think that every good parent goes to bed with those thoughts in their head. I know that I do. Lucky Oliver to have a Dad who wants to be the best Dad he can be.

  8. wahela Says:

    Give yourself a break, Daddy. We are just as good as we are supposed to be, not because we are perfect, or will ever be perfect. But because we love them. That’s all a child needs–parents that think the sun rises and sets in their children. They don’t need perfection. As if we could even aspire for that. What they need is love.

    I love this picture. Oliver has a look of “I don’t know who these people are, but they’re kinda cute.” And then in later pix where we see the three of you, Oliver in the middle with his arms around your necks. You two are just what he needed. And I think he knows too. ((hugs))

  9. dori Says:

    I agree with Lori! I was having a discussion a while back with a woman I’d never met before and the coversation turned to gay and lesbian parents. I hope you don’t mind but I shared your family’s story to illustrate to her that it really is a positive thing and not some scary world invented to ruin children’s lives. I think she may have gotten it! I almost fell over when she said something to the effect of “don’t you think that’s all the kids will see? That world?”. I very gently explained that most children in “that world” see a lot more than kids in “her” world because they are taught more about tolerance and love and acceptance. I also had to ask her would O be better off with a bio mom who clearly wasn’t able to care for him or a Daddy and a Papa who are giving him love and amazing life experiences?

    And I’ll tell you-I think good parents always feel the same way you do. We feel like there is always more and better that we can do for our little ones. My hubby always tells me to put the crazy away lol!

    Congratulations Daddy and Papa!

Comments are closed.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

