Ten Years!

Ten years ago (and a couple of days) I got an email from someone on Match.com telling me that he was interested in my profile.  I didn’t take it very seriously because 1) he didn’t have a photo or much info in my profile, and 2) I just got dumped a couple of weeks earlier and had only joined Match.com out of spite when I saw that my ex had put up an ad on a dating website.

But hope springs eternal so I sent a short reply asking for a photo and for more information about him.  I got another email from him telling me he didn’t have a photo online and that he’d prefer to talk on the phone.

It was at this point that the “Danger, Dander Will Robinson” started sounding off in my head.  From my experience, when someone doesn’t have a photo it’s because, well, they don’t want anyone to see them coughfuglycough.  And ten years ago I was much more vain than I am now.  ;)  And the whole “talk on the phone” thing.  Come on!  There’s a protocol to online dating!   First you email back and worth in witty repartee for a while (a week or two), THEN you progress to phone calls, and if these go well, you meet, and then have sex see where it goes.  And all of this is dependent upon HAVING A PHOTO!

I’m not sure what came over me, but I agreed to talk on the phone (look at me living on the edge even ten years ago!) so we made a phone date for the next day.

The next day the phone rings (I can actually remember where I was when we were on the phone!), I hear the French accent and was immediately intimidated.  Come on, I’m from Wisconsin!  And Podunk, Wisconsin!  I can’t talk to someone on the phone who has a French accent.

I’m not sure how I got through it, or what we talked about, or how long we even talked, but we set a date for the next evening (Thursday) to meet for tea.  (See!  How many people from Wisconsin meet for tea?! (No offense to my Wisconsin friends!))

So the next day I arrive at Elixir on Melrose Boulevard in Los Angeles.  I was supposed to meet him outside so I walked up to the front of the store and and as my luck would have it, there were two guys standing outside, both on the phone, both looking at me expectantly.  And since I didn’t have A PHOTO I didn’t know which one was which.  One looked super elegant and the other was normal like me.  Turns out my luck took a turn for the better and it ended up being the elegant looking guy!

So we had tea, I listened to his French accent and tried to stay objective (who needs more than a French accent?!).  We had a couple of dates over the next few days and by Sunday night I started staying at his place (with Theron, awww, I miss Theron!).

And the rest is history.

We’ve gone through a lot in the last ten years.  We’ve had seven different addresses (including our current one) in two different countries, we’ve added to our family with the adoption of our son and the marriage of Laurent’s son, we’ve traveled (St. Bart, Thailand, France, and throughout the US), we’ve battled cancer together, we got married, and now we’ve embarked on the next leg of our journey together in France!

8 Responses to “Ten Years!”

  1. Kaye Says:

    Wow…ten years…I’m so happy for both of you! Miss you both, but Frank, looks like you are having the adventure of a lifetime with the person you love :)

  2. Joan Says:

    Wow, 10 years already! I remember how excited you were when you first met. You have been through so much together. Wishing you many more happy years together! <3

  3. LeeAnn Gerleman Says:

    Isn’t it funny that these things work out so well, and nobody ever has a clue? Ten years together, and a lot going on in your lives. Many many more.

  4. sharon Says:

    Congratulations Frank and Laurent. Here’s to many, many more happy years together.

  5. Anita Fields Says:

    Congratulations! Life is all about taking chances. Where would you be now if you had not taken that chance?

  6. carrotflowers Says:

    What a great story! It’s been a long time since I have been on your blog, I used to see your photos in our Ottobre pool, and I remember the baby pics of your son, how big he is now! How exciting life is, moving to France! Best of luck to you.

  7. Kathy Says:

    I love this story. Wishes for many more years of happiness and adventure to both of you.

  8. Lisa Says:

    not sure why I am just reading this now – but it made my day – thanks :)

Comments are closed.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

